10 October 2022 :

A Dhaka court on 10 October 2022 issued the death penalty to seven persons, including a union parishad chairman, for killing a local Awami League leader in Mymensingh’s Gauripur upazila in 2020.
The death penalties were awarded to Riyad Uzzaman Riyad, chairman of Mailakanda union of Gauripur, Sakib Ahmed Reza, joint general secretary of Gauripur Municipality Chhatra Dal, Khairul Islam and Mozammel Haque, members of Mymensingh district (north) Swecchasebak Dal and Chhatra Dal activists Main Uddin, Shariful Islam and Ruhul Amin.
They were fined Tk 20,000 each.
Besides issuing death penalty, the court had also given life term to three others accused for their involvement in the crime.
The lifers are — Masud Parvez, aka Curzon, Shariat Ullah, aka Sumon, and Rasel Mia.
The court also fined the lifers Tk 20,000 each, non-realisation of which will languish them six months more in jail.
Judge Monir Kamal of Dhaka Speedy Trial Tribunal-3 handed down the verdict on 10 October.
On 17 October 2020, some unidentified assailants hacked Masudur Rahman Shuvro, general secretary of Gauripur upazila Swecchasebak League, to death in the upazila’s Pan Mohal area at about 10:00pm.
Abidur Rahman, the deceased’s younger brother, filed a murder case with Gauripur police station following the incident. On 27 April 2021, inspector of Detective Branch Shah Kamal Akanda submitted a charge sheet to the court accusing 19 people for the killing.
On 26 January 2022, the court framed charges against the accused and started the trial process.


other news