Former Osun State Governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola

03 December 2018 :

The immediate past governor of Osun State, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola, pardoned four inmates on death row and commuted the sentences of two others on death row to 10 years, in one of his last duties in office, reported on 29 November 2018.
All the affected inmates were being kept at Federal Prison, Ibara, Abeokuta, Ogun state.
A statement signed by the state’s Head of Service, Dr Oyebade Olowogboyega, listed the affected prisoners as; Kazeem Adiamo, sentenced to death in 2012, and Adesina Bolaji, sentenced to death in 2006, who had his death sentence commuted to life imprisonment in 2008, and his now pardoned.
Others were; Kayode Dada, sentenced to death in 2006, but had the death sentence commuted to life sentence in 2006, and Adewale Owolabi sentenced to death, but now freed.
Also pardoned were; Lateefat Jimoh, who was sentenced to death but her sentence has now been commuted to 10 years imprisonment and Fatai Jimoh, also sentenced to death but his sentence has now been commuted to 10 years in prison.


other news